A Dad’s Inspiration


Most people only really know me because of my mom. She’s a passionate, amazing woman who really catches anyones attention (whether it be for her abnormally long shiny blond hair, or her big white smile), and she’s the type of woman you won’t forget. Because she’s so radiant, my dad is so easily forgotten, which is unfortunate because behind his gruff and scruffy apperance, he’s one of the most creative and amazing indivisuals you will ever meet.

If there is one thing I see clearly in society, and I don’t mean to offend, but if I were a betting woman, 60% of the time if a girl grows up without a dad, they tend to be more permiscuous. Boys that grow up without dad’s never learn how to be a man, or at least a good one. Of course this is not always the case, but dad’s are so important to balance out the usually overprotective traits of mothers.

When I was little and I wanted something, I learned to never go to mom to ask but my dad, and whenever I did he laughed and told me that he’s become my “yes-man”. Daughters and dad’s always have special relationships, because it’s his job to protect his girl while she’s little, and teach what kind of man she’s looking for when she’s older. And while my dad does both of those things, he does more.

Normally, men’s artistic and creative abilities are so easily overlooked. We only really see their strength or athletic ability, and because my dad is what you’d call a “manly-man”, you’d never guess that he is actually a literary genius and quite the romantic. My mom, however, is completely opposite. She’s about numbers and math, so people have always asked me, “Where do you get your artistic abilities?” and I tell them my dad. This always comes as a suprise to people, and it was only until a few years ago that I realized my dads never shown anyone this other side of him, but me.

I hope I can become famous as either an artist or poet, so that when someone looks at me and asks, “What was you’re inspiration”, I’ll proudly look at my old, middle-class, scruffy dad and say, “Him.”

 

5 comments

  1. Akriti · July 3, 2014

    This is a very nice post. The sentiment beneath it has been very aptly put out there. I really like it.
    Good job 🙂

    i’d really appreciate if u could spare a few minutes and tell me what u feel about this –
    http://akritimattu.wordpress.com/2014/06/22/the-last-thing-a-3-year-old-syrian-said-before-he-died-im-gonna-tell-god-everything/

    It’s a very touching picture . I need more and more people to tell me what they feel about it .

    • MariahPotter · July 3, 2014

      Wow I just seen it, and it makes me sick to see that THAT is what the world has come to. People treat war like a game of chess, when there are real people involved and dying, and it’s not a game.

  2. Charlene Andrews · July 4, 2014

    Mariah Potter!!!! THAT WAS SO BEAUTIFUL! !!!! I AM VERY PROUD TO KNOW WHAT A BEAUTIFUL YOUNG WOMAN YOU ARE. Inside and out…that was very nice. Hope dad has seen it. Xoxo

    • MariahPotter · July 4, 2014

      Thank you very very much that means a lot:D <33 He probably won't see it, but hopefully he sees it someday so he knows how much I appriciate him:)

Leave a Reply

